From the blog
Gas Safe registration cost: the 2026/27 fees, renewal and the ACS behind it
· Robert McLaggan
A business may only do gas work if it is on Gas Safe Register, the only body HSE has approved. The fees for 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027 are £319.96 + VAT to join, covering one engineer and a digital card for a year. Renewal is £139.78 + VAT online or £171.58 + VAT any other way. Each extra engineer is £44.40 + VAT. Notifying a new boiler or other heat-producing appliance in England and Wales is £3.34 + VAT online. Behind the registration sit each engineer's ACS certificates, renewed every five years. Four centres' published reassessment prices ran from £491 to £850, and they don't cover the same things. The registration is the business's. A subcontractor needs their own or a listing as a named engineer, and an employee doing paid jobs on the side needs their own. New registrations are inspected within about three months, and about a third of registered businesses were inspected in 2024/25.
Electricians can argue about whether to join a scheme, because the law leaves it to them. Gas engineers have nothing to argue about. If your business does gas work, it has to be on Gas Safe Register.
Here's what it costs from 1 April 2026, the certificates behind it, and the rules that catch out subcontractors and employees with jobs on the side.
The law is one regulation
Regulation 3 of the Gas Safety (Installation and Use) Regulations 1998 does the work. It says a business may only do gas work if it's in a class of persons approved by the Health and Safety Executive. That covers an employer whose staff do the work, and a self-employed person doing it themselves. HSE's code of practice says the only body with that approval is Gas Safe Register.
Two small jobs are carved out. One is replacing a hose or regulator on a portable or mobile space heater. The other is replacing the hose between a refillable cylinder and the installation pipework. Everything else needs the registration, and the same regulation makes pretending to be registered an offence of its own.
The register covers Great Britain, Northern Ireland, the Isle of Man, Guernsey and Jersey, and the fees are the same in all of them.
What it costs from 1 April 2026
Gas Safe Register publishes one fee table a year. This one runs from 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027, and I read it off the register's own page on 19 October 2026.
Fee | Without VAT | With VAT |
|---|---|---|
Joining: application fee | £148.38 | £178.06 |
Joining: registration fee, one engineer and a digital card | £171.58 | £205.90 |
| Renewal, online | £139.78 | £167.74 |
Renewal, any other way | £171.58 | £205.90 |
Each engineer after the first | £44.40 | £53.28 |
Physical licence card, per engineer | £15.91 | £19.09 |
Replacement or updated digital card | £2.36 | £2.83 |
Notifying a job, online | £3.34 | £4.01 |
Notifying a job, by phone | £5.84 | £7.01 |
Late renewal penalty | £137.78 | £165.34 |
So joining costs £319.96 + VAT, the figure on the register's apply page, or £383.96 with the VAT. It covers one engineer, a digital licence card and a year's registration. After that, a one-engineer business renewing online pays £139.78 + VAT a year.
Two things to watch.
Renew online. It's £31.80 + VAT cheaper than any other way. The register's renewal page still puts the saving at £20 and quotes a different card price, so go by the fee table.
Renew on time. Renew after your anniversary date and you have six weeks before the penalty is added. After twelve weeks the renewal isn't accepted at all, and the business has to make a new application. A new or lapsed registration starts on probation, with your work inspected within about three months.
The ACS certificates behind it
The registration is the business's. What each engineer may do is set by their certificates of competence, from the Nationally Accredited Certification Scheme, which everyone calls ACS.
Gas Safe's rules say an engineer needs a valid certificate for a category of work before doing any of it. A boiler in a home takes two. CCN1 is the core domestic gas safety assessment, and CENWAT covers domestic central heating boilers. Cookers (CKR1) and gas fires (HTR1) are certificates of their own. The licence card lists each engineer's categories, with end dates that match the certificates.
The certificates last five years. IGEM, which runs the industry's standard-setting body, says a reassessment doesn't need a training course first. BPEC, one of the certification bodies, says you can be reassessed up to six months before expiry without losing time. Leave it more than a year past expiry and you sit the initial assessment again.
Two rules hang off this. The register won't renew a business without a valid core certificate, CCN1 or the commercial COCN1. And its Sanctions Policy charges a penalty fee if an engineer's certificates have run out when the business registers or renews.
What reassessment costs
Nobody publishes a standard price, and the centres don't sell the same thing. Four examples, each from the centre's own page on 19 October 2026:
- City College Plymouth: £491, with no VAT to pay. Reassessment of CCN1 (£239) with CENWAT, CKR1 and HTR1 (£65 each).
- Newark Gas Assessment Centre, Lincoln College: £675, VAT not stated. Renewal of CCN1, CENWAT, CKR1 and HTR1 at an introductory price. CCN1 and CENWAT alone are £525.
- Able Skills, Dartford: £795 including VAT. CCN1 with four appliances, over up to five days. CCN1 alone is £495.
- Forth Valley College, Falkirk: £850, VAT not stated. Three days of training and assessment, to complete or renew CCN1. Appliances not named.
For the core certificate with three or four appliances, the published prices ran from £491 to £795. Ask what's included, whether it's assessment only, and whether VAT goes on top. And count the days: Able Skills runs over up to five, and Forth Valley's course is three.
Spread over its five years, a reassessment at those prices comes to about £100 to £160 a year, on top of the register's £139.78 + VAT.
Notifying a new boiler in England and Wales
In England and Wales, fitting a heat-producing gas appliance comes under the Building Regulations. Being Gas Safe registered is what lets you certify it yourself, instead of going to building control first. The regulations give you up to 30 days after finishing to give the customer the certificate and notify building control. The register's own rules are stricter: notify within 21 days, for boilers, fires, air heaters and every other heat-producing gas appliance.
Each notification is £3.34 + VAT online, or £5.84 + VAT by phone. It's a cost of that one job, so it belongs in the price of the install rather than your overheads.
Gas Safe Register says the same notification requirement doesn't exist in Scotland or Northern Ireland.
Who has to be on the register
The registration belongs to the business, whether that's a sole trader or a company, and each engineer is listed under it. Two arrangements catch people out.
Subcontracting. An engineer working for other businesses has to be registered in their own name. The alternative is a listing as a named engineer on the registration of the business they work for. Work subcontracted to another registered business is done under that business's own registration.
Jobs on the side. An employed engineer with no registration of their own can't use their employer's details for gas work outside their job. Paid work on your own account needs your own registration.
Inspections
Expect one early. Gas Safe expects to inspect a new business's work within about three months of registering. After that it goes by risk: the size of the business, what earlier inspections found and the kind of work it does. Refusing an inspection without a good reason is a breach of the rules of registration.
In the year to 31 March 2025, the register carried out 55,172 inspections. It inspected 26,434 of its 75,920 businesses, about a third. The three issues it found most often were the safety of boiler installations, flue construction, and the installation of gas fires. At that date it listed 150,847 engineers.
The fee table has no charge for an inspection.
Working without it
The maximum sentence for gas work without registration is two years in prison, a fine or both. HSE counted seventeen convictions for illegal gas work between the start of 2025 and September 2026. There were three in 2022/23 and four in 2023/24.
In July 2026 a fitter was sentenced for replacing boilers at two homes in Portsmouth in 2021 and 2022. He had been struck off the register in 2016. The sentence was eighteen months, suspended for two years, and 180 hours of unpaid work.
Coming into gas from scratch
There's no short way in. IGEM says a new entrant has to complete an industry-recognised training course before being assessed. For someone with no relevant experience that's a managed learning programme, with a portfolio of evidence gathered on a work placement. In England, the gas engineering operative apprenticeship typically takes 18 months. BPEC put it plainly in 2022: "There is no fast track to gas safety".
The tax side
HMRC's guidance doesn't name Gas Safe Register or ACS. How it treats training and membership fees is in what a tradesperson can claim as expenses. That includes why training to start a new business is treated differently.
Where grafter.ly fits
grafter.ly has no link to Gas Safe Register. It doesn't notify jobs, issue gas safety records or check anyone's registration.
What it handles is the work that comes back round. A landlord's gas safety check has to be done at intervals of not more than twelve months. A boiler service can repeat on whatever interval you agree with the customer. Set a job to repeat on the customer's page. grafter.ly then puts it in your list as a new job a fortnight before it's due, or as early as you choose. The next one is counted from the day you finish. Nothing is sent to the customer: ringing them is yours.
If your website is with us, its Accreditations panel takes your Gas Safe number, and the site shows it as you entered it. HSE tells the public to ask a gas engineer for their ID and check the number online, so put it where they'll see it.
The register's fees and your ACS are overheads, like the van and the insurance. The day rate calculator turns them into a figure per day with your own numbers.
Sources. The law: the Gas Safety (Installation and Use) Regulations 1998, regulation 3 and regulation 36; the Northern Ireland regulations and HSENI; HSE's code of practice, L56, and its page on the Gas Safe Register scheme; the Building Regulations 2010, Schedule 3 and regulation 20; and the Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974, Schedule 3A. Gas Safe Register: its fee table, apply page, about page, renewal page, ID card page and Building Regulations certificate page; its Rules of Registration, Registration Policy and Sanctions Policy, all February 2026; and its 2024/25 report. The memorandum between HSE and the Isle of Man on fees in every territory. ACS: IGEM on assessment, new entrants and Guidance Note 8; BPEC on ACS and fast-track courses; the UKAS schedule for BPEC Certification; and Skills England's gas engineering operative standard. Prices: City College Plymouth, the Newark Gas Assessment Centre, Able Skills and Forth Valley College. Prosecutions: HSE's releases of 6 August 2026 and 14 September 2026. All checked 19 October 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
Fees change every April. Check the register's own fee table before you pay, and a centre's current price before you book.
Common questions
- How much does Gas Safe registration cost?
- For 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027, a new registration is £319.96 + VAT, or £383.96 with it. That is a £148.38 application fee and a £171.58 registration fee, and it covers one engineer and a digital licence card for a year. Each extra engineer is £44.40 + VAT, and a physical card is £15.91 + VAT per engineer.
- How much is the Gas Safe renewal fee?
- £139.78 + VAT (£167.74) a year if you renew online, or £171.58 + VAT (£205.90) any other way. Renew more than six weeks after your anniversary date and a £137.78 + VAT penalty is added. After twelve weeks the renewal isn't accepted and you make a new application.
- How often do you renew your ACS?
- Every five years. You need a valid core certificate, CCN1 for domestic work or COCN1 for commercial, to renew your registration, and a certificate for each type of appliance you work on. BPEC says reassessment can be taken up to six months before expiry without losing time, and IGEM says training isn't required before a reassessment.
- Do I need my own Gas Safe registration as a subcontractor?
- Either your own, or a listing on the business you work for. Gas Safe's rules say an engineer working for other businesses must be registered in their own name or listed as a named engineer on that business's registration. An employed engineer can't use their employer's details for gas work outside their job.
- Do I need Gas Safe registration in Scotland?
- Yes. The register covers Great Britain, Northern Ireland, the Isle of Man, Guernsey and Jersey, at the same fees in each. What Scotland lacks, according to Gas Safe Register, is the Building Regulations notification that England and Wales require for a new boiler, so there's no notification fee there.
More posts
- NICEIC, NAPIT or SELECT: what registration costs, and whether you need it
No UK nation makes an electrician register with anybody. What a scheme buys in England and Wales is the right to sign off your own notifiable work. In 2026 that costs £695 + VAT at NICEIC or £655 + VAT at NAPIT in year one, and it usually pays for itself within two or three jobs.
- What can a tradesperson claim as expenses? The van, the tools, the boots and the phone
The van, the tools, the boots, the phone and the drive to site: what HMRC lets a self-employed tradesperson claim, what it doesn't, and the records to keep, for the return due on 31 January 2027.
- Who signs an electrical certificate, and what makes one worthless
Three signature boxes on an EIC, two on an EICR, and almost no law about who may fill them in. What the standard actually asks, what your scheme adds on top, and the things that quietly make a certificate worth nothing.